You are here

Changing chairs – London Assembly re-assembles

At its Annual Meeting, 3rd May, all Assembly Members present voted for new leadership of the Assembly as a whole and leadership of the various Committees.
The new Chair of the London Assembly is confirmed as Jennette Arnold OBE AM and the new Deputy Chairman is Tony Arbour AM.

Chair of the London Assembly, Jennette Arnold OBE AM said: “We thank Tony Arbour AM for all his great work as Chairman of the Assembly during the past year and in this new year, we remain focused on our key roles of holding the Mayor to account and how we can best look after the interests of Londoners.

We are elected to scrutinise the work of the Mayor and his functional bodies – we must do this with unflinching dedication to ensure that everyone in the capital gets the value for money and the transparency they deserve.” The meeting also agreed the membership and Chairs of a range of Committees to lead investigations into issues ranging from public transport to spending at City Hall.
The meeting can be viewed here.
The role of the Assembly is to act as a check and balance on the activities of the Mayor of London. Committees, Chairs and Deputy Chairs as follows:

Audit Panel (4 Members)
Chairman: Peter Whittle AM
Deputy Chairman: Keith Prince AM

Budget and Performance Committee (7 Members)
Chairman: Gareth Bacon AM  
Deputy Chair:  Len Duvall AM

Budget Monitoring Sub-Committee (3 Members)
Chairman: Gareth Bacon AM  
Deputy Chair:  Len Duvall AM

Confirmation Hearings Committee (9 Members)
Chairman: Andrew Boff AM    
Deputy Chair appointed at each meeting

Economy Committee (6 Members)
Chair: Caroline Russell AM
Deputy Chair: Kemi Badenoch AM

Environment Committee (7 Members)
Chair: Leonie Cooper AM
Deputy Chair: Caroline Russell AM

Fire, Resilience and Emergency Planning Committee (7 Members)
Chair and Deputy Chair to be appointed at a later date

GLA Oversight Committee (9 Members)
Chair: Len Duvall AM
Deputy Chairman: Gareth Bacon AM

Health Committee (5 Members)
Chair: Dr Onkar Sahota AM
Deputy Chairman: Kemi Badenoch AM

Housing Committee (7 Members)
Chair: Sian Berry AM
Deputy Chairman: Andrew Boff AM

Planning Committee (5 Members)
Chair: Nicky Gavron AM
Deputy Chairman: Andrew Boff AM

Police and Crime Committee (10 Members)
Chairman: Steve O’Connell AM
Deputy Chair: Sian Berry AM

Regeneration Committee (5 Members)
Chair: Navin Shah AM
Deputy Chairman: Shaun Bailey AM

Transport Committee (10 Members)
Chairman: Keith Prince AM 
Deputy Chair: Caroline Pidgeon MBE AM

Full Membership of each Committee and terms of reference